

COUNCIL (ANNUAL)

MINUTES

12 JUNE 2014

Present: * Nana Asante (The Worshipful the Mayor)

* Councillor Mrs Camilla Bath (The Deputy Mayor)

Councillors: * Ghazanfar Ali

* Richard Almond

* Mrs Chika Amadi

* Jeff Anderson

* Sue Anderson

† Marilyn Ashton

* June Baxter

* Christine Bednell

* James Bond

Michael Borio

* Simon Brown

* Kam Chana

* Ramji Chauhan

* Bob Currie

* Niraj Dattani

* Margaret Davine

* Jo Dooley

* Keith Ferry

* Ms Pamela Fitzpatrick

* Stephen Greek

* Mitzi Green

* Susan Hall

* Glen Hearnden

* Graham Henson

* John Hinkley

* Ameet Jogia

* Manjibhai Kara

* Barry Kendler

* Jean Lammiman

* Barry Macleod-Cullinane

* Kareema Marikar

* Ajay Maru

* Jerry Miles

* Mrs Vina Mithani

* Amir Moshenson

* Chris Mote

* Janet Mote

* Christopher Noyce

* Phillip O'Dell

* Paul Osborn

* Nitin Parekh

* Ms Mina Parmar

* Varsha Parmar

* Primesh Patel

* Pritesh Patel

* David Perry

* Kantilal Rabadia

* Kiran Ramchandani

* Mrs Christine Robson

* Lynda Seymour

* Aneka Shah

* Mrs Rekha Shah

* Sachin Shah

* Norman Stevenson

* Krishna Suresh

* Sasi Suresh

* Adam Swersky

* Bharat Thakker

* Antonio Weiss

* Georgia Weston

* Anne Whitehead

* Stephen Wright

Council - 12 June 2014 - 1 -

^{*} Denotes Member present

[†] Denotes apologies received

1. ELECTION OF MAYOR

RESOLVED: That Councillor Ajay Maru be elected Mayor of the London Borough of Harrow for the Municipal Year 2014/15.

2. ELECTION AND INVESTITURE OF DEPUTY MAYOR

RESOLVED: That Councillor Krishna Suresh be elected Deputy Mayor of the London Borough of Harrow for the Municipal Year 2014/15.

3. APPOINTMENT OF CHAPLAIN

The Mayor confirmed to Council that he had appointed Sri Srutidharma Das as his religious representative for his Mayoral Year.

4. RETURN OF COUNCILLORS AND NOTIFICATION OF MEMBERS OF POLITICAL GROUPS INCLUDING LEADERS, DEPUTY LEADERS AND PARTY WHIPS

RESOLVED: That the return of Councillors elected, their respective wards and membership of the respective political groups as contained in Appendix A to the report be noted.

5. APPOINTMENT OF LEADER OF THE COUNCIL

RESOLVED: That Councillor David Perry be elected as Leader of the Council of the London Borough of Harrow.

6. CIVIC FUNCTIONS

RESOLVED: That the dates of the Civic Functions be noted.

7. DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

The Mayor invited appropriate declarations of interest.

<u>Item 13 – Appointment of Representatives to Outside Bodies</u>

Councillor Barry Macleod-Cullinane declared a non-pecuniary interest in that he was an employee of London Councils Ltd.

- 2 - Council - 12 June 2014

8. PROCEDURAL MOTIONS

RESOLVED: That Rules 17.1 and 17.2 be suspended for item 9 – Constitutional Changes, item 10 – Corporate Priorities and Item 14 – Members Allowances.

9. CONSTITUTIONAL CHANGES

RESOLVED: That the proposed Constitutional changes outlined in the report to Council be agreed and any resulting necessary minor consequential changes required to the Constitution be delegated to the Monitoring Officer.

10. CORPORATE PRIORITIES

RESOLVED: That the Council adopt the Vision and Council Priorities contained within the report presented to Council.

11. CABINET AND COMMITTEE MEMBERSHIPS

RESOLVED: That

- (i) it be noted that Councillor Keith Ferry was the Deputy Leader of the Council;
- (ii) it be noted that the Councillors appointed to Cabinet with the identified portfolios, as contained in the report, be noted;
- (iii) the determination of the allocation of places on the Council's Committees contained in the report and in accord with the 'political balance' rules in the Local Government and Housing Act 1989 be agreed;
- (iv) the establishment and terms of reference of all of the Council's Committees as contained in Appendix A to the report be agreed;
- (v) the establishment and terms of reference of the Cabinet Advisory Panels and Consultative Forums as contained in Appendix B to the report be agreed.

12. APPOINTMENT OF CHAIRMEN TO COMMITTEES

- (i) Upon a request by more than 10 Councillors a roll call vote was held on a proposal to appoint Councillor Paul Osborn to the Chair of Overview and Scrutiny Committee;
- (ii) upon a vote, this proposal was not agreed.

Council - 12 June 2014 - 3 -

Roll Call Vote:

FOR: Councillors Almond, Mrs Bath, Baxter, Bednell, Chana, Chauhan, Greek, Hall, Hinkley, Jogia, Kara, Lammiman, Macleod-Cullinane, Mrs Mithani, Moshenson, Chris Mote, Janet Mote, Noyce, Osborn, Mina Parmar, Pritesh Patel, Rabadia, Seymour, Stevenson, Thakker and Wright.

AGAINST: The Worshipful The Mayor Councillor Ajay Mary, the Deputy Mayor Councillor Krishna Suresh, Councillors Ali, Amadi, Jeff Anderson, Sue Anderson, Borio, Brown, Currie, Dattani, Davine, Dooley, Ferry, Fitzpatrick, Green, Hearnden, Henson, Kendler, Marikar, Miles, O'Dell, Parekh, Varsha Parmar, Primesh Patel, Ramchandani, Robson, Aneka Shah, Mrs Rekha Shah, Sachin Shah, Sasi Suresh, Swersky, Weiss, Whitehead.

ABSTAIN: Councillors Bond and Weston

RESOLVED: That the following Councillors be elected as the Chairs of the relevant Committees:

Governance, Audit, Risk Management and Standards	Councillor Antonio Weiss
Licensing and General Purposes	Councillor Kairul Kareema Marikar
Overview and Scrutiny	Councillor Jerry Miles
Planning	Councillor Keith Ferry
Pension Fund	Councillor Keith Ferry

13. APPOINTMENT OF REPRESENTATIVES TO OUTSIDE BODIES

RESOLVED: That

- (i) Councillor Anne Whitehead be appointed as the sole Council nomination to the Lea Valley Regional Authority;
- (ii) the remaining Outside Body appointments for the Municipal Year 2014/15 be approved, as set out in the report.

14. MEMBERS ALLOWANCE SCHEME

RESOLVED: That

(i) the Members' Allowances Scheme, as amended in paragraphs 11, 12 and Schedule 1, be adopted as contained in the report;

- 4 - Council - 12 June 2014

- (ii) it be agreed that Members forego their allowance to the extent necessary to discharge any debt to the Council;
- (iii) the Constitution be amended to include the requirement that certain posts and membership of certain bodies, as detailed in this report, require an enhanced Disclosure and Barring Service check and relevant training.

15. SCRUTINY ANNUAL REPORT 2013-14

RESOLVED: That the Scrutiny Annual Report 2013-14 be endorsed.

16. DATES OF COUNCIL MEETINGS 2014/15

RESOLVED: That the dates of the following Council meetings be confirmed:

24 July 2014 (Extraordinary)
24 July 2014
13 November 2014
26 February 2015
19 May 2015 (Annual)

(CLOSE OF MEETING: All business having been completed, the Mayor declared the meeting closed at 8.59 pm).

Council - 12 June 2014 - 5 -